Home » Brain Exchange » Monday Brain Exchange Week 30- Your First Kicks

Monday Brain Exchange Week 30- Your First Kicks

Still having link issues- urrrg!  The good news is- MBE has made it 30 weeks!!! :)

Every Monday, at the end of the current weeks M.B.E answer, I will post a question for the following week.  This way you can cue your post for Monday if you wish.  If Monday doesn’t work for you, you can still play along any day of the week that works best. If you want to play along, all you have to do is post the question and your answer on your own blog.  Link your post to my blog so that I know you have participated, and in the following weeks post, I will link all the participant blogs from the prior week.

This Weeks Topic: Your First Kicks

This Weeks Question: All runners have a connection to their shoes.  Tell the story behind how you came to love the kicks you’re in- what were your first shoes?  What do you wear now?  Do you stick to one shoe or change it up?

Like most people, when I first started running, I wore basic running shoes.  I am pretty sure they were New Balance.  I was having all kinds of trouble to my shins/calves so on a recommendation from my Uncle, I went to the local running store.

And that is where the Brooks Adrenalines and I fell in love.

I tried on at least three pairs that day…I didn’t really like any of them.  Then, the last pair they brought out, “good for overpronators” were the Brooks.  I had never even heard of Brooks.  I loved them the second I had them on- and haven’t wavered since because any time I do try on a different pair of shoes, I always come back to the Brooks.  And always the Adrenalines.

I usually have two pairs rotating at all times.  One pair, the new ones, are always for race training, where as the old ones are for just wearing around or to the gym.  I usually change out my shoes every 350-400 miles or so, give or take.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Next Weeks Topic:  Race Reports

Next Weeks Question: Do you enjoy writing your race reports?  Do you use them later for reference?

11 thoughts on “Monday Brain Exchange Week 30- Your First Kicks

  1. Pingback: Goals for the Week and Brain Exchange #30 « My First 5K and More…

  2. New Balance. Then I lost them in Italy but was too embarrassed to tell my mom (since they were $$$) so I snuck to the store and bought a new pair. In the wrong size. Because that’s all they had. And proceeded to run in them. Yeah. I’ve come a long way.

  3. If you’re free on April 30th and want to do a 5 mile trail run (and get a running skirt as your premium if you register before April 1st) let me know. It’s only $25 to register. It’s in Western MD. They also have a 10 mile option but I decided to play it safe and only do one loop.

  4. I used to have a wild love affair with the Asics Kayanos, wore them about 10 years until I had a problem with my foot going numb. Then I went through a serious case of being lost, trying different shoes left and right, and finally have fall in love with the Brooks Launch. Problem is my doctor said minimalist shoes are not good for my heel problem…yet I’m sort of reading otherwise. Will be interesting if this heel ever clears up to find out what shoe I CAN wear.

  5. Ohhhhh what a great topic! Love it! I think my first few pairs were generic Nike’s of some sort. But my first pair of REAL running shoes (i got for training for my first half marathon) were Mizuno’s. I slipped them on and they. were. amazing. From the start I could tell a huge difference. Still in the same make/model of them today… after trying and failing in several other brands. I heart Mizuno! 🙂

  6. Those are my shoes of choice too. I had my feet analyzed this spring on the treadmill and they are still the shoe for me.
    Maybe we can meet up in Boston. Em and I are doing the 5K too.

  7. Pingback: Brain Exchange #31 and the Last Week of March « My First 5K and More…

Leave a Reply

