Home » Brain Exchange » Monday Brain Exchange Week 32- Building Mileage

Monday Brain Exchange Week 32- Building Mileage

Every Monday, at the end of the current weeks M.B.E answer, I will post a question for the following week.  This way you can cue your post for Monday if you wish.  If Monday doesn’t work for you, you can still play along any day of the week that works best. If you want to play along, all you have to do is post the question and your answer on your own blog.  Link your post to my blog so that I know you have participated, and in the following weeks post, I will link all the participant blogs from the prior week.

This Weeks Topic:  Building Mileage

This Weeks Question:  Regardless of the distance you train for, or whether it be road racing or triathlon, training is time-consuming.  What are your tricks for fitting all your training into your schedule?  How do you balance family, friends, work and training?

I wish I had tricks.  I wish it were that easy, really!  The truth is, I don’t have any tricks.  The truth is, it just happens.  I am not sure how I do it, but somehow I manage to fit everything in.  And when I can’t, I typically have a mini-meltdown about it and then move on and try to do better.  I hate letting people down and I hate letting myself down…but it happens.  I try my best to fit everything in, schedule things around other things and make it all work.  Most of the time it does; sometimes it doesn’t.  I would say the one thing I sacrifice most, and have to work on not sacrificing, is sleeping.  I know that sleep is such an important part of training, however I hate to miss out on anything so I always seem to let the hours slip away from sleep time.

I am looking very forward to your “tricks” to help me out!!!

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Next Weeks Topic:  All About Boston

Next Weeks Question:  What are your thoughts on the Boston Marathon?  Have you, are you or do you plan to, run the Boston Marathon?  What do you think of the new regulations? 

*MBE will not post on Monday, April 18, as I will be in Boston! 🙂

12 thoughts on “Monday Brain Exchange Week 32- Building Mileage

  1. I always try not to skip runs but I’m easy on skipping gym workouts when life gets in the way. And what helps me is that I went back to early morning runs, this way I have the evenings off to do other things. I do my long runs early Saturday morning so that I can meet a friend in the afternoon and Sunday’s are my rest days.

    All my friends work and we hardly ever meet on workdays so it’s easy for me to fit in my workouts then.

  2. Morning workouts are key for me – that way when I feel lazy after work I can be lazy without (yet another) 0-mile day. I tend to make running one of the more important things in my life… Family, eat/sleep, run. Haha. Oh and work, of course. I need to run / workout or I will be a Groucho Marx! Luckily Josh knows this and understands, and let’s me go run.

  3. The key is knowing your limitations and building your long run around that. You have swimming, biking, core, workouts and of course running. You can get by wth three runs a week – focusing on the long run.

  4. I actually just posted about this as part of a post the other day. I am lucky enough to have a flexible schedule, but the essential aspect of the schedule is that I can start work early (6:30AM in my case) and then get done early. I used to not be a morning person at all, but after a few weeks of setting the alarm and being disciplined, it is starting to become second nature.

  5. Here’s a scheduling trick.
    Write out your training schedule, then blindly go through it and just X out days. Random rest days, catch up on sleep (please get enough sleep!), and training continues just as well.

  6. I’ve become a morning workout person. I used to do my weekday workouts in the evening after the kids were in bed. But then I decided to switch to mornings, so I could have more downtime in the evening…unfortunately, my downtime is cut short, because I have to go to bed so much earlier. Usually, I go to bed too late and sacrifice the sleep. I am also fortunate that there is a gym at work. If I need to, I can knock out a run or a spin class at lunch. That helps!

  7. Don’t ever blame yourself for Lindsay’s faults. She has denied my repeated attempts to change her blog’s name to http://www.chasinghugs.com and it’s unfortunate… that’s just her.

    What a great question for the week as we just had the baby a month ago and I’m returning to full-time work. Though I’ve hated for years waking up early and going for runs this appears to be the only way that I can get mileage in. So, with a heavy heart and cold air in my lungs, I embarked this morning on what will most-likely be a long term routine.

  8. Pingback: Brain Exchange #32 & Goals for the Week « My First 5K and More…

  9. Hugs and kisses to you!!
    I am NOT an early riser, I need 9 hours of sleep to function, I play with kids all day and sometimes babysit my grandson on Saturdays and one day after school. I just make time for three KEY workouts; long run, track workout, tempo run and stuff little runs into the other days. One or two days off is necessary since I’m NOT a spring chicken but hey, it’s working out alright!
    Now blogging, friends, house cleaning and gardening, how can I work all those things in??? Help!
    Can’t wait to hear about Boston in next week’s post!

  10. Don’t feel that you have to sing! In my video I took just of my son and then put music behind it. If you have an animal or a baby that can’t object to being placed in a poker scene, then you’re all set!

  11. I’m going to plan to write about Boston. Plan. No promises, haha! Just because I’m such a flake sometimes when it comes to weekly write-ups. But it’s a great topic, and I have so much to say about Boston!!!!

Leave a Reply

