Home » Life in General » Excitement & A Bit Of Sadness

Excitement & A Bit Of Sadness

Last April I wanted to spectate Boston.  Financially, I couldn’t work it out no matter how hard I tried.  However, I knew I was going to be there in 2011.  I made a deal with a fellow blogger to run the 5k together.  I was looking very forward to it, even a year ago when Boston seemed so far away.  Often myself and this blogger would talk about meeting up- we emailed frequently, became close friends and over summer started making plans for Boston.  I was so excited!

That friend was Rick.  Suddenly, and sadly, Rick passed away in October.

Rick and his Daughter- he loved this photo and I love how happy they both look.

Boston won’t be the same.  Not without Rick. He was the whole reason I was going to do the 5K…we were supposed to toe the line together.  And he won’t be there.  However, I know I won’t be totally alone…something tells me that Rick’s spirit will be at Boston…he wouldn’t miss all his friends running for the world!

Boston is going to be a great time- I am looking so very forward to meeting all the amazing bloggies (especially Denise, Meg and Lindsay…I have been reading their blogs since the beginning!) and taking part in all the festivities.  I have a whole heck of a lot jammed into two short days but I cannot wait!  This is more than likely my last post until I return but when I come back I will have a full 5K report, a spectator report and lots and lots and lots of photos! 

16 thoughts on “Excitement & A Bit Of Sadness

  1. I was thinking about Rick the other day- I remembered you had planned to meet up with him at Boston. I’m sure he’s glad that you will still be running the 5k to honor him.
    I can’t wait to hear all the stories and see all the pictures from Boston. You’d think I was going or something… it’s all very exciting, even if I’m not going to be a part of it.

  2. Oh, Honey, this just made me cry. We did meet Rick last year and I will never, ever forget him. I will never take that opportunity for granted.
    First of all, if he were here on Monday, he would tell you how hot you are. Then, he’d give you a big bear hug. He’d tell you how wonderful you are and why he respected you.
    He always spoke so highly of you.

    I’m going to try to make it to the 5k but which meet ups are you attending? I feel like I need to give you my cell number!
    Here’s my email: lingfam@cox.net
    BIG HUGS!!!!!!!!

    • I will email you!

      I’ll be at the 5k pre-race meet up and the post-5k brunch. I’ll be at the Marathon, around the 5k, 10k and somewhere close to the finish. I will email you my phone#!!

  3. I remember the story about Rick and how sad it was.

    I’m kind of jealous of you that you’re going to meet the amazing Meg but also jealous of Meg because she’s going to meet the amazing Jill!

    Have fun sweety, you deserve it.

  4. I didn’t know Rick, but based on how you have described him, I’m sure that he would be very happy that you were still going to Boston this year and running the 5k. I hope you have a great time this weekend!

  5. Well at least you were 1/3? 🙂 We will make up for it with our summer vacation at Meg’s. (PS Meg, we are coming over)

    I Still think about Rick a lot. 😦 I miss his funny comments!

  6. That breaks my heart to read about your friend, Rick. I can only imagine how much it would mean to him to know that you went and took him in spirit. That’s awesome that you’re still pressing on – good luck!

Leave a Reply

