Home » Truth » 30 Days Of Truth- Day 6

30 Days Of Truth- Day 6

Day 6- Something you hope you never have to do in your life.

This took less than a second for me to assess.  While I do not even have children of my own yet, my biggest fear in life, is losing them.  I cannot on any level, comprehend for one second, what they might feel like or how I would ever deal.

When my friend died, I remember vividly watching his mother scream and reach for his coffin as they lowered him into the ground.  That image is forever imprinted in my mind.  Over the years since his death, his mom has become a good friend of mine.  We have talked for hours on end about Jimmy; she has shared with me much of her grief.  For all the sadness I have felt over the years…as much as it hurt me to the core to lose my friend…I cannot on any level comprehend the hurt in her heart.

Almost 11 years have passed since Jimmy died.  Although not overly religious, Karen will often say it is her faith that got her through.  I don’t know what would get me through.  I’m not sure I have faith like that.  I’m not sure what I have, but I do know I hope I am never forced to come to grips with it.  I don’t want to find out if I can be THAT strong.  Ever.

Day 1 –> Something you hate about yourself

Day 2 –> Something you love about yourself

Day 3 –> Something you have to forgive yourself for

Day 4 –> Something you have to forgive someone else for

Day 5 –> Something you hope to do in your life

9 thoughts on “30 Days Of Truth- Day 6

  1. yikes, i don’t even like to think about something like that. i agree, i can’t comprehend what that must be like. but then again, i think a lot of people find their inner strength and the will to go on.

  2. I can’t even think about this post.

    I imagine wearing your swim cap under your helmet was rather hot! Glad to know I’m not the only one.

  3. Burying a child would definitely be on the top of the list. My sister died in a rollerblading accident. So difficult as a sibling to go through but even tougher thinking of my parents…..

  4. I agree that losing a child is the worst that can happen to a parent. It’s not supposed to be that your child dies before you. My mother has 4 brothers, 3 of them had a muscle disease and they all died between the age of 40 and 50 years old. My grandmother had to bury 2 of them before she passed away herself and it was hard for her.

    Regarding myself I can’t imagine of anything I don’t hope to have to do in my life right now.

  5. Pingback: 30 Days Of Truth- Day 7 « Finishing is Winning

  6. Pingback: 30 Days Of Truth- Day 10 | Finishing is Winning

  7. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth- Day 11 & Day 12 | Finishing is Winning

Leave a Reply

