Home » Good Days » Marathon Motivation

Marathon Motivation

As my training cycle begins to get real serious, and the marathon begins to peek its head out from the horizon…and I begin to be exhausted every day and on the verge of eating my own hand every minute…I decided over the weekend that I need a motivation overhaul! 

Here are some of the photos that I have been posting on my mirror, bedroom walls and work desk.  Whatever it takes, right!

 

 

How do you best motivate yourself?  Do you use quotes or photos or certain mantras?

10 thoughts on “Marathon Motivation

  1. To get my mom across the finish of the 15k this weekend I kept telling her how strong she was! I also borrowed a line from a kid’s sign along the course – You can make it!
    I always just stay positive and push through and know I can do anything I set my mind to!

    I’m half tempted to come to Philly to watch you finish your first marathon.

    • OMG- how much fun would that be?!?!? I am excited that many of my family and friends will be there. I know it will go a long way to get me to that finish line!!!!!

  2. My motivation is that I’m blessed to be able to do this! Sometimes it sucks, sometime awesome, sometimes it hurts like hell and makes me want to cry, BUT I have remember I’m lucky to be able to enjoy this no matter what, so i need to get out there and do it!!!

    Good to see you back! I’m looking forward to following your training towards your first Marathon!

  3. That last one is spot on. I always run in my underwear and crop-top long sleeves.

    You should join pinterest. Dangerously addicting and has tons of motivating thingies like these 🙂

  4. love them! and welcome back!! you’ve been missed.

    for the 70.3 training i had this quote hanging at home and at my desk, “she believed she could so she did.” i read it every day. more than once!

  5. I definitely use these things. I’ve got two posters on the wall of my office, one says “the ultimate goal should be your best … and enjoying it”.

    But my biggest motivation boost is to take a step back from time to time by using recovery weeks. I haven’t used those the past 6 months which is one of the reasons (amongst other) that I had to cancel the half marathon. I need recovery weeks, it’s something I can look forward too and enjoy during while I look forward to another 3 weeks of training.

  6. Pingback: Motivation – the ultimate extra bit to be successful !? « spogging

Leave a Reply

