Home » The Journey » Music For My Ears

Music For My Ears

I have roughly 4 half-written marathon type posts.  If I wasn’t so busy eating, running, working, icing, running, sleeping, working, running, rolling, working, eating, sleeping, rolling, running and eating, I might have time to finish them!  Seriousy, how do you people do it?????  I feel like all I do is eat and sleep whenever I am not working or running!

One of the things I have really concentrated on during training, is my mental health.  I know how important it is to stay physically healthy through the training but for me, I know come race day, I am going to need to be mentally with the program!  I have been posting photos to my facebook as daily motivations, I have photos on my mirror at home and desk at work and I spend time visualizing the marathon almost every night.  But the one thing I am doing that I think will help me the most is also the craziest- I have done every single long run without music.  Every single one.  I used to refuse running more than two miles unless I had my IPOD and now I am running almost 20 miles, music-less. 

To be honest, I like being without the music.  It forces me to focus on my body; how I am feeling, what I am feeling and moreover, my thoughts.  When you are out there that long, going as slow as I do, self-reflection is unavoidable.  I would be remiss if I did not say that this training has taught me more about myself and what I am capable of, then I ever thought possible. 

And yet, the notion that I am going to complete 26.2 miles in less than five week, blows my mind completely.  It leaves me wondering if I am ever going to be able to wrap my head around it until I actually do it. 

I know that come race day there will be ups…and downs…and ups.  I know I will be challenged in crazy ways.  I am trying to be preapred…so even though I am not training with music, you better believe I am going to run with it!

That said, here is my playlist thus far. 

Bachman Turner Overdrive You aint seen nothing yet
Black Eyed Peas Pump It
Black Eyed Peas I got a feeling
Bon Jovi Who says you cant go home
Bon Jovi It’s my life
Bruce Springsteen Born to Run
Bruce Springsteen Hungry Heart
Bruce Springsteen Glory Days
Chris Brown w/Lil Wayne Transform Ya
Christina A. Fighter
Dierks Bently Free and Easy
Don Henley Boys of Summer
Drake Forever
Eminem Lose Yourself
Eminem/Lil Wayne No love
Estelle American Boy
Fleetwood Mac Go your own way
Garbage Only happy when it rains
Jay Sean Down
Jay-Z Run this town
Jets Crush on you
Journey Don’t stop believing
Justin Timberlake Sexyback
Katy Perry Waking up in vegas
Kayne West Stronger
Kayne West Jesus Walks
Kenny Chesney Big Star
Kesha Tik tok
Killers Mr. Brightside
Lil Kim The jump off
Lil Wayne Mr. Carter
Lil Wayne with Jay-Z Mr. Carter
Lil Wayne/Chris Brown Look at me now
Michael Jackson Don’t stop till you get enough
Michael Jackson Man in the mirror
Michael Jackson The way you make me feel
Midnight Oil Beds are burning
Miley Cirus Party in the USA
Miley Cirus The Climb
Natasha Bedingfield Unwritten
Nikki Minaj Super Bass
No doubt Spiderwebs
No doubt Just a girl
Pink  Raise your glass
Pink  Just like a pill
Pink  So What
Queen/David Bowie Under Pressure
Rick Ross Boss
Rick Springfield Jesse’s girl
Rob Base It takes two
Rob Base Joy and Pain
Rolling Stones Start me up
Rusted Root Send me on my way
Sheryl Crow Soak up the sun
Sugarland Settlin
Taylor Swift Love Story
Tina Turner Proud Mary
Tom Petty Running down a dream
Tom Petty I Won’t back down
U2 Beautiful Day
Van Halen Running with the devil
Young the Giant My Body

 With very few exceptions, most of this music is geared towards the paces I feel like I will be running throughout the marathon.  And when I say running, I should note: running/jogging/walking. 

What are you favorite songs to run/jog/walk to?  I am looking to add another 30 songs…I like pretty much all music, so let me know what you recommend!!!!!

 

14 thoughts on “Music For My Ears

  1. Jill, I think you are incredible for training for a marathon while working two jobs and holding down a social life. My training hasn’t been as chaotic because I only have one job and I can get some of my runs in during lunch. You are such an inspiration. You are so strong and there is no doubt in my mind that you will achieve your goals.
    I rarely run with music. I know I often have running buddies but even without I have done all my training runs (except the couple treadmill runs) sans music. I intend to run the marathon without music as well. Not because I have anything against running with music but because I just never have in a race before and I don’t plan to start now. I may make Joey carry his ipod just in case I change my mind though, but I doubt I will.
    Songs that pump me up are ‘tubthumping’ by chumbawumba, ‘here it goes again’ by ok go, and ‘the distance’ by cake.

  2. Foster The People – of “Pumped Up Kicks” fame. They’re album Torches is great.

    Pearl Jam – I’m partial to the Backspacer album.

    My Chemical Romance – Danger Days album. I love the song “Na Na Na (Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na)”. Yes, that is the actual name. 🙂

  3. I admire you for running that distance without music. If I’m correct there are a lot of races in the US where music is forbidden during the race so running without it is a good idea. I never run without music.

    I don’t have much to add to your list because we have the same taste in music, love to see you got some Springsteen, and I have a lot of your songs on my Ipod too.

    But maybe:
    The All-American Rejects: Gives you hell
    Springsteen: No surrender
    John Mellencamp: Rock in the USA
    Queen: don’t stop me now

    I have a playlist page on my blog, maybe you can find some ideas there.

  4. I can’t believe that Philly is less than five weeks away! I’ve been doing most runs without music and probably will run most of the marathon without it. But I think it’s nice to carry my iPod and have the option to turn it on towards the end when I am starting to struggle and need that extra distraction!

  5. Five weeks! WoW! I never thought I’d run without music, until I hit the trails! most times the sounds of nature is plenty to keep me going…BUT I do carry music and have had to use it when I need that little extra! Most of mine tend to lean toward Rock and usually just keeps me from getting too much into my head when i start singing along!

  6. I am so glad to hear you’re not training with music. I think it’s great to not be relying on it to get the job done. You’re doing AWESOME!!!!!

    My list:
    U2 – Where the Streets Have No Name
    Killers – All These Things That I’ve Done (check out this video – http://vimeo.com/17196201)

  7. Can I just say how much that jogfm site is going to change my life? LOL

    Apparently every song on my ipod is at the right bpm for the pace I am currently running, except the 5 songs on my 5k list, which are at the bpm for the pace I want to run. And I wondered why only that playlist seems to do for speedwork. I am such a dolt.

    Now I just want a metronome on my ipod. Mercy. Thank you so much!

  8. Not sure how into classic/hard rock you are, but here are a few of my faves:
    “Thunderstruck”, AC/DC
    “You Could Be Mine”, Guns N Roses
    “Bleed It Out”, “Faint” and “When They Come For Me”, Linkin Park
    “How Far We’ve Come”, Matchbox Twenty (a GREAT song to end a run)
    “Already Gone”, the Eagles
    I know you asked the same question on FB a while ago but I completely forgot to respond, so I figured I’d just do it on here instead. 🙂

  9. this is exciting, your marathon training. so excited for you! i think you’re going to do great. um, as for music, i haven’t been running with it much lately either. but one happy tune that’s fun is “pumped up kicks” by Foster the People!

  10. i like the cheesy pop music. nicki minaj. beebs. brit brit. hip hop music. etc. you should put raise your ade on this playlist…. hahaha. maybe i should get it on itunes. i wonder if that’s free.

Leave a Reply

