Home » Life in General » Thoughts On The Marathon- One Week Till Go Time

Thoughts On The Marathon- One Week Till Go Time

Here I am, one week away from marathon day.  This time next week, I will be recovering with the biggest margarita ever and a lot of ice cream! Maybe at the same time, who knows 🙂

And now for my favorite kind of post- list post!  Here are some of my thoughts with one week to go:

  • Taper sucks! I never felt this way with half-marathon or triathlon training, but I feel it now.  I am going out of my mind!  For one, everything hurts.  Bones and muscles I didnt even know I had are hurting.  I am having nightmares of the most ridiculous nature; showing up naked being the most popular, I constantly think I am sick if I so much as sneeze and all I want to do is eat and sleep!!!  I am totally over taper!
  • My 20 mile run was easier than my last long run yesterday.  I was completely beat before I even started the run and I struggled through the whole thing.  I was downright exhilarated when the run was over!
  • I am so excited for this week- I know it is going to crawl by but I don’t even care.  I am just happy to only be working two nights.  I have plenty of time to rest, elevate my legs and sleep, sleep and sleep!
  • I have officially become obsessed with the weather.  I check it one or two or ten times a day.  Yesterday it said 57 and raining and I was angry.  Today, it says cloudy and 54 and I am all about it.  I know God is busy with things like the Superbowl, NBA lockout and the Oscars, but if he is listening, I would like it to be in the low 40’s at the start with it getting no higher than mid-50’s by the finish.  And if I can be really picky, partly sunny.  Whatever the weather, please please please NO RAIN, please!
  • I have three outfits picked out.  I will probably pack a weeks worth of stuff for one night.  Possibly more.  And I bet you, I will still forget something.
  • I am staying overnight in a hotel.  I live less than 20 minutes from the start line. I don’t care.  I know I will feel so much better if I am there when I wake up.  Not only will I not have to leave until 15 minutes before the start but I will have my own toilet to poop in; there really is no better reason!
  • I am starting to get very emotional when I think about the race.  Anxious, nervous and emotional. I’ll probably cry like a baby when I cross that line.
  • When I start to feel worried about race day, I go back and read past race reports.  Especially, Philly half from last year.  It helps immensely.
  • I am looking insanely forward to my massage this week. Ridiculously. Like, I cannot describe.  I am looking even more forward to my post marathon massage.
  • I have worn Brooks Adrenalines since 2007.  I hated the new ones that came out and needed new shoes.  I have officially been running in Saucony’s for the last 5 weeks.  Still, there is a part of me that wants to run in my Brooks on race day.  I am sure they have 26.2 miles left in them 🙂   Let’s face it, I’ll probably pack both!
  • So many people are so excited for me, that I am getting so excited.  I know that no matter when I cross that line, my family and friends will make me feel like a winner.  And I am, because I have them in my life.
  • I have taken more Airborne and more vitamins in the last 8 weeks than ever before.  Next to getting injured, getting sick has been fear #2…I have 6 days to go, so lets hope my body stays with me on this one!!!
  • I have gained weight and quite a bit of it.  Gaining weight while marathon training…of could I would! 
  • This is hands down the hardest thing I have ever done.  I can honestly say, without a doubt, this has never been fun.  I have been thrown so many curve balls- having first planned for run a marathon two years ago.  When I am training for half-marathons and tris, I actually have fun.  But these last 15 weeks have tested in me in many ways.  I have sacrificed a lot to get here- and I have worked so hard.  I didn’t always get my work outs in, and I went three weeks in a boot hardly working out at all…a lot of people told me I should bag the race…but I kept at it.  I decided as long as I had my doctors blessing, I was only going to listen to myself.  I worked hard to get healed and picked back up my training.  I trained in rain, I trained on boring courses without music, I did long runs on the treadmill (seriously, there is nothing fun about 16 miles on a treadmill!!!) and I trained alone most of the time.  I did all of this while working a full time job and a part time job.  I did this while changing full time jobs.  I did this with some personal stuff happening.  I did this with still maintaining a social life as much as possible.  But it should be noted, I could not have done this without the unending support I have received from my parents, R2, my friends and my amazing support group here.  My parents and R2 have definitely felt the hit of my training personally- my time with them is much more limited, they deal with my nerves, self-doubt and anxiety and they have changed their schedules to work around my long runs when needed.  No, marathon training has not been fun for me…but it has taught me so much and I know that all the hard work will pay off when I cross that finish line.  And I cannot wait!!!
  • And last but not least…the most important thing I must always remember…my mantra for race day…

What has been your greatest lesson while training for an important event?  What is your favorite mantra during tough parts of the race?

21 thoughts on “Thoughts On The Marathon- One Week Till Go Time

  1. I like your mantra. Is it Philly you are doing? Good luck. I had so much fun at my first marathon! No pressures – just finish! I laughed at the Airborne! I did the same thing.

  2. it’s like you reached into my head and pulled out all my worries and concerns … thank you for this blog … I am no longer in a panic and I do not feel so alone. Philly 20 Nov is my first marathon (at age 52).

    • Hi Mary-

      Thanks for the kind words 🙂 We are definitely not alone, although it can feel that way at times. Good luck on your first marathon (it’s my first too!!) and congrats on the hard work!

  3. Keep moving and run your own race and you’ll be golden!! The last run I had before my last big race sucked big time!! But that just means you get the bad run out of the way before race day! 🙂 The massage will be the best thing for you and I always make that part of my pre-big race routine! Good Luck and enjoy these last few days before you kick butt

  4. Last week was the cross country’s season’s end banquet and one of the girls on the team got up and made a speech that just sent me into tears. Part of it she said, “the cross country team is relatively small compared to other sports in school, word has it that cross country is really, really hard – and it is. And that’s why I do it.” Same can be said about the marathon…even though it appears everyone and their brother does it, which you will feel when you line up on race day, you are in the minority here girl, you are tougher and braver and have more perseverance than the vast majority of the population. And that’s why *I* run marathons, I love how physically demanding they are….the harder the obstacle, the better I feel!

    You’re going to have one fantastic race. It will get tough out there, that’s a promise, but dig deep and don’t let a few tough miles determine your race. You will be stronger than that race and you will not let it get to you. In one of my favorite books: Brain training for runners, it talks about how when the pain comes, to accept it as part of the hard work you have put in to get there. I remember in my first race I BQ’d at, I had a horrible leg cramp at mile 23 and I told the dumb leg, “Bring it on, Leg, I’m glad you’re here!!!” It really helped me mentally accept that this is just part of the process and BRING IT ON!!!

    So excited for you!!!

  5. really hope to see you saturday at the expo!!!

    I think it was probably good I basically had no taper, it keeps me from over thinking and it just becomes another run. Well ok for me it is just another run because I am not aiming for any time other than one that includes crossing the finish 🙂

  6. pie. you seem so motivated. you got this!!

    don’t forget anything. i forgot my longsleeve shirt once for a 30* start temp marathon. that wasn’t fun.

    i love you!! you will do awesome!!! i hope you will text me at the finish line!!!!!

    also, i thought that first motivational quote said “it’s the acne in your lungs” and i thought “who has acne in their lungs? gross!”

  7. Good luck on Sunday! You are totally ready for this!

    When will you be at the expo? I should be there early afternoon on Saturday. Would love to meet you if we’ll be there at the same time!

    • I should be there in between 12-1 on Saturday and plan to stay about an hour tops. Definitely would love to say hi!!!

  8. I am so sorry that I haven’t been reading/commenting. I haven’t seen your race post yet, so I can’t wait to see how you did! Seriously belated Good luck to you. And I feel your pain on the taper – I am exactly the same.

Leave a Reply

