Home » Good Days » Racing in 2013

Racing in 2013

Last year, my race schedule was anything but a schedule.  The few races I did were mostly last minute decisions and I bagged quite a few of them last minute.  That doesn’t mean this year was without its highlights!

-I was 5th in the swim at the Life is Good Tri!

-My relay team took first place overall at the Belmar Tri!

-I finished the Philadelphia Half-Marathon with little training and was NOT injured!

With everything that 2012 was, I am glad it is over.  2013 has started off quite nicely in the fitness field.

-As a kid, and a teenager, I always wanted to take dance.  I never did but in December, at age 31, I began taking ballet classes. I love it!  It is an adult class and NO we do NOT wear tu-tu’s!  I am also doing Barre Fit and it has been amazing for toning up and getting fit.  I see such a difference!  I go two or three times a week and it is great.  Not only is it whipping me into shape but it is really helping with my core, balance and flexibility as well.

-In addition to the ballet and barre classes, I have been hitting the gym two times a week, no matter what!  Between two jobs, that can be difficult, but I know I want to get back to a fitter and healthier me this year.  One of the additional motivations to stick to this schedule, is that in March I will be heading to Mexico for a friends wedding and I need to be in bikini shape three months earlier than I am used to!

-I have been base building for my April half-marathon.  Short but quality runs, building back up my endurance and getting my legs back into gear!  The real training schedule starts this week.  I am really looking forward to nicer weather so that I can complete all my runs outside and only have to worry about the gym when I want to swim.

-I am continuing to see my Sports PT every other week or so for ART and Graston.  I use the foam roller every night and use a LAX ball for trigger point a few times a week.  I thought the foam roller was the enemy but as it turns out, the LAX ball is the devil!  It is worth it, though.  My very biggest goal of all, is to stay injury free!

-I am done doing triathlon.  Yup.  Done.  You know what…I really gave it a good try; I really wanted to like riding a bike.  But I just hate it.  I did four years of triathlons.  And I enjoyed it and I was good at it.  Except the biking.  And I don’t even want to be good at it, because I don’t even like it!  You know what I do like?  Running and swimming.  Relay tri’s are still going to very much be a part of my life.  And I am determined to find more Splash and Dash races so that I can still compete in both sports I enjoy.

I feel like for the first time in 5 years, I am doing everything right.  Looking back, I feel like something was always off.  There was never a time where everything was on point.  This year is going to be different; at least I am giving it my all to be that way.  Sticking to a strict training plan, increasing my core and flexibility, keeping my nutrition plan together and continuing ART and Graston to keep from getting injured.

So what is on the agenda for 2013?

Rutgers Half-Marathon

Spartan Race

Atlantic City Half-Marathon

Philadelphia Half or Full Marathon  (I’ll be deciding this for sure after the RU half.)

I am still looking for a May 10-miler and I know there are a few tri’s I will be swimming for as part of a relay and there is a possible 15k in the fall.  And of course some local 5k’s that will be week or day of decisions.  I am excited to be training and I am looking forward to racing, but the last thing I want to do is overwhelm myself.  I have to constantly remind myself that I am, in essence, starting over.  I don’t want to push too hard, or race too much or risk burn out or injury.

How is your 2013 shaping up?  Are you doing anything new this year?

7 thoughts on “Racing in 2013

  1. I had a ton of races that I wanted to sign up, but I also realize that now I’m a mom, this first year of my daughter’s life will be tricky to schedule and plan races. So I’m just looking to build my base back up to a point where I could run a half marathon at any point like I used to be… so if an opportunity comes up I can jump on it!

  2. How exciting that you are taking dance classes!!
    I still haven’t registered for any races yet. Maybe I should remedy that today! I plan to do a half at the end of April and probably a 10k the week before (will treat as a training run). Maybe a 5 miler in May if I can make it work with my schedule. Likely a fall half marathon but haven’t made any official decisions yet.
    You are considering another full marathon!? I don’t think I’ll be doing one this year but it’s not completely out of the question in the years to come.

  3. Ooo! You had a great 2012 and are off to a super 2013! I would love to hear more about the ballet class! I have no dance skills but fantasize about taking a dance class someday!

    I’m excited you get to go to Mexico! And that you are saying no to the bike and sticking to relays. You should do what you like!

    Hmm. News for me this year – the 70.3 relay. A few new distances, and hopefully some new states! Oh! And some other stuff that I can’t talk about yet. Lame.

  4. I only gave triathlon a try for one year, but also really disliked the bike. I haven’t been on mine since the end of July 2011 and I haven’t missed it at all! I say do what you enjoy, no need to force yourself to participate in something you don’t like!

  5. I love your fitness goals for this year, particularly that you started ballet classes since this has been a long time dream of you: good for you!

    In Holland we have a few run-swim-run races of which even I thought I might give it a try but first let me see if I can finally finish a half marathon this year.

  6. Come do a relay with me. I only want to bike! I think the reason I do tris is so I can bike in a race! I am not good but man do I ever love it.

Leave a Reply

