Home » Running » Happy Boston Marathon Day!

Happy Boston Marathon Day!

boston-finish

When I was 17, my family took a trip to Boston.  It was one of the best trips.  My parents were awesome enough to let me bring a friend which made everything that much better.  We did the touristy stuff like Ride the Ducks and visiting the Cheers bar but we also saw the Titanic expo while we were there and best of all…we went to Fenway.  My Mom, Dad and I are all HUGE baseball fans.  Of course the Phillies come first in our heart but a close second would be the Red Sox.  My Dad had always wanted to go to Fenway and of course I loved the idea of visiting a new ball park.  In addition to seeing the game, we took the tour.  It was then, in 1998 that I fell in love with Boston.

It would be 12 more years until I would get back.

The first Boston Marathon I watched on TV was in 2008.  At the time, I was training for my first 5k.   I was home sick from work that day (truthfully) and it was the first race I ever watched on TV.  I thought these people were nuts.  Pretty sure I thought to myself more than a few times, “I’ll never do that” during the course of watching the race.  At the same time, there is something so inspirational about watching such a historic race be run by people who have trained through blood, sweat and tears to get there.

In April of 2011, my mom and I flew into Boston for the marathon weekend.  A bunch of my blogging friends were either running the marathon or like me, running the 5k.  In addition to the blogger meet-ups and racing, we were able to spend some time with one of my mom’s friends who lives right outside of Boston.  Spending time back in the city and seeing new places, made me fall in love all over again.  The weekend was a whirlwind, but it was so much fun to run the 5k, cross the line and then of course watch the marathon on Monday.  My mom and I sat just past mile 17 in the Newton Hills.  It was a great space; people weren’t hating their lives yet but you could see them pushing hard!  And I was so close to the elites when they went by.  It was awesome.

Watching the race this year is not a problem.  A-my boss is from Boston and B-my boss is a runner (ran Boston twice in the 70’s).  I asked him if it was okay to live stream it and he said, “Well, I can’t tell you no if I’ll be doing the same thing!”  So while it would be a whole lot more fun to be AT the race, I am excited I’ll get to watch it once again.

Do you have personal memories of Boston?  Where will you be watching from today?

6 thoughts on “Happy Boston Marathon Day!

  1. Um, I forgot it was today… I guess I’m not currently following a blog of someone running so it slipped on by without my notice. I’ve never been to Boston but it’s on my list of places to visit.
    In the mean time, come to DC and I’ll take you to a Nat’s game. Or Baltimore for an O’s game… I don’t follow baseball but I enjoy going to a game once or so a year.

  2. How cool that your boss is so in to running! Sigh.

    Okay, okay, that is not all I got out of this post. Hee hee. I really want to visit Boston! It seems like a place I would really like, with all the history.

    I didn’t catch the live stream today (too busy this morning) but I am seeing all the Facebook comments!

  3. ahh… this day started with so much hope and excitement! i am so mad at the turn of events this afternoon!! boston is a great race with a great history, and i hope our family of runners will rise up from this tragedy. (and 2010 was a great year to be at the marathon of course)

    • I hear you! I cannot even process this right now. Maybe I’ll write another post about Boston, maybe I won’t. I don’t know. I think I am finally cracking…losing faith in humanity.

  4. I know about Boston but it’s not huge here in Holland (Sunday’s Rotterdam marathon is) but unfortunately and to my sadness it is huge news in Holland today. I’m so sad of what happened yesterday. The Boston Marathon is a happy day, for the runners who worked their ass of to get there and for the spectators and someone or a group of people have brought sadness and grief over this great event.

Leave a Reply

