Home » Meeting Goals » A Real Post- With Updates & Everything!

A Real Post- With Updates & Everything!

I have been a little MIA but really, just my usual busy self.

Today we have a snow day.  It is completely unnecessary.  A few weeks ago, after a blizzard, we had school.  Every single other school in the county was closed.  Today, we have a few inches. All schools had a two-hour delay. We are closed.  We can never just be like everyone else.  The upside is, since I had off yesterday for Presidents Day and today for snow, I only have to work 2.5 days this week.  I am taking a half-day Friday to head to Florida!

Speaking of Florida.  This time last year, I was on my way home from Florida.  I had spent the weekend with Morgan in Orlando and Jacksonville.  Looking back to that time, I see truly how much has changed in my life.  I had a blast in Florida, but that was not a good time in my life in general.  I had just lost my grandfather, I was unhappy at work, living at home with my parents, feeling lonely much of the time and only days away from a major injury.  These days, while I am still unhappy at my day job, I have so much good in my life.  It really is amazing how when you allow yourself to live a good life, life becomes good.  It isn’t that bad things aren’t happening or that I don’t have bad days, it’s more like I am choosing to focus on the good.  Life is so much easier this way and I only wish I had begun living like this a lot earlier!

February is flying as fast as January did; when I get back from Florida it will be March already!  February started off with a Hip Hop Thrown Back Party that my friends Victoria and Jason threw- it was a blast!  I haven’t partied liked that in years but it was so worth it!  I have been dating someone since late January (first mention of it in this blog, right now) and things with us are going really well.  Last weekend was my Tri Teams winter party which was also super fun.  Of course, it is always a good time with my teammates.  And of course, this weekend is Florida.  We take off Friday night around 6pm and we are there until Tuesday afternoon.  I cannot wait!  We really don’t have much planned, which is the idea- all we really want to do is bask in the 80* weather, spend time on the beach and hit up the bars for some dancing at night!  Our hotel is right on the beach and I cannot wait to run down A1A and swim in the ocean!

As for my training, that is also going really well.  It seems I have settled into somewhat of a schedule- consistently hitting workouts four days a week and pulling at least one two-a-day a week.  I am running, biking, lifting and doing a little P90X.  I have been sticking to the 10% rule like a psycho- I refuse to get injured again this year!  So while my mileage is still quite low, my runs are all quality and I feel great!  I have also been riding my trainer a few days a week and I can feel my bike skills getting better.  I am actually looking forward to getting my bike on the road again!  And the best part of my winter training has been my strength- I have been lifting solidly since the beginning of the year and it is showing.  I not only feel strong but I am looking stronger.  I don’t think I have been this lean in a long time- I am really feeling good about the way I look!  I still have a lot I want to work on, but by summer, I plan to rock my bikini’s!

Starting in March, I will be back in the water swimming a few mornings a week.  I always look most forward to the water as I truly love to swim.  On March 2nd, I will (along with many others) be trying to get a spot in the B.A.A 5k!  I want to run that race so bad- I am going to cross my fingers and toes and hope for the best!  March is also Shamrock time- I am still bummed out about missing out of the half-marathon but I think it was for the best.  I would have had to push my training more than I would have wanted so if probably worked out the way it should have.  The weekend is sure to be a blast- I am heading down with my friend Nicole and we have a house on the beach to stay the weekend and we are running the 8K.  I am still looking forward to catching a tan on the boardwalk while watching the big races on Sunday 🙂  I’ll begin my half-marathon training plan when I get back from VA; I am still going to train as if I am doing Frederick in May, although I still have not made a final decision.  I am pretty sure March is going to fly by as fast as January and February, which I am totally okay with because then Spring will be here 🙂

I’ll leave you all with some photos from the Hip Hop Party-

How was your February?

16 thoughts on “A Real Post- With Updates & Everything!

  1. I was just thinking that it’s been a year since Donna & Gasparilla! Man… SO much has happened in life since then huh?!?!?

    And how on earth did I miss that you are going to be in Boston?!?!?! I’m signing up for the BAA 5k too and have all sorts of bloggy meet-ups in the works! I will get you a link to the spreadsheet with peeps and event deets ASAP!

  2. Some sun sounds really nice!

    We have mega snow and only a 2 hr delay. It’s odd they closed us for less than half of what we got before and this time, nope! I wanted to play in the snow. bummer.

  3. Focus on the good, that’s all we can do girl :).

    Hope you got my reply email back!

    I’ve been off for 4 days and got nothing done, but it was a good nothing I guess.

    Florida will be so nice! One day we will have to go somewhere fun like that together!! 🙂 Have a blast girl!!!
    xoxo

  4. Great to read what you’ve been up to this month. I’m so happy life is good for you (except for the day job) right now.

    My February was good, I’ve had one of the best workout months ever and it didn’t feel like a burden at all. Could have done some more fun things this month but will work on that from now on.

    Have fun in Florida.

  5. you’ll have to let me know where you’ll be on the course for shamrock!!

    glad to hear training is going well and you’re feeling so good. saw some of the hip hop pics on facebook…love them!

  6. I am so happy for you! I love that you have found a way to focus on the good things, because you are right – bad things still happen! I wish more people had your attitude!

    I am excited you are seeing someone and that training is going so well 🙂

    Have a great time in FL!

  7. dude one year we got a whole week off of school for nothing. i mean there was “ice” like one or two days but the rest the roads were just partially wet. ahaha. gotta love sc. we close for everything.

  8. Wow! You’ve been super busy. I hope you enjoy your time in Florida. I had a fantastic trip this past weekend. It was so warm and sunshiny down there. The water on the beach in Jacksonville was super cold though so I couldn’t swim. Hopefully where you’re going it will be much warmer!
    I’m super excited for your year of happiness. 🙂 Keep the positivity going girl!

Leave a comment