Home » Brain Exchange » Monday Brain Exchange Week 2

Monday Brain Exchange Week 2

Here are the answers from participants in last weeks Brain Exchange:  Jill, Whitney, Kim, Darlene, Lacey, Kittzy, Suzy, Kera   (If I missed you, let me know- sometimes links are funny and don’t work and I don’t want to leave anyone out!)

Here’s how it works:

  • Every Monday, I will post a question.  The questions will be set up to post for @ 6am E.S.T. to give everyone ample amount of time to post their own answers throughout the day.
  • Questions will range all over the board as far as topics are concerned; from the sports themselves to nutrition to blogging and so on.  (If you have any topics/questions you think would be good, please feel free to email me!) 
  • If you want to play along, all you have to do is post the question and your answer on your own blog.  You can play along any day of the week that works best for you.
  • Link your post to my blog so that I know you have participated, and in the following weeks post, I will link all the participant blogs from the prior week.
  •  

    Topic: Favorite Races!

    Question: Name your top 3 favorite events to date.  When were they and why are they your favorite?

    I have done so many fabulous races, both road and triathlon, that I always find it hard to narrow it down.  Many variables go into picking a favorite race…the course, the spectators, the swag, the medal, the company…etc.  With all that in mind, I went over each race and narrowed it down to my top three favorites:

    1. Donna 1/2 Marathon–  2/21/2010; This is by far the best race I ever participated in.  The course was brutal and I am still not running in part because I pushed myself harder in that race than maybe I should have, but I still wouldn’t change it.  It was the most fun and by far the most inspirational race I ever ran.  They had great medals and thus far my favorite race shirt.  I was there to visit Morgan and we had a blast the entire time!  See race report here.
    2. Philly Women’s Duathlon– 7/12/2009;  I never thought this would top a favorites list but the truth is, this race was one of my biggest challenges and therefore one of my biggest triumphs.  I had to shake off the cancelled swim and prepare for a duathlon.  This event has some of the best spectating, is put on by the best race directors and always comes with a great medal and a bag full of awesome swag.  It ended up being a great time despite the cancelled swim and because of it, I got to add duathlon to my list of accomplishments.  See race report here.
    3. Baltimore 1/2 Marathon– 10/10/2009;  It was my worst half-marathon time to date and still one of my most favorite races.  The hills were crazy (and I am going back this year for redemption) but the spectating was the best of any race I ever ran.  It has fantastic views along the course, great volunteers, I love the race shirt and the medal is my all time favorite.  Additionally, because the race was so close to the harbour, there was grear sightseeing post-race.  My mom, her friend and I had lunch at hard rock and walked around the harbour before heading home.  See race report here.

    Honorable Mention: Broad Street, PDR and Philly 1/2 marathon! 

    22 thoughts on “Monday Brain Exchange Week 2

    1. I’m going to try to get to this question sometime today (or tomorrow). But I wanted to mention that if you come to the Baltimore half this year you have to let me know!!! That’s not too far for me to drive.

    2. I like this question and definitely want to answer it. I also liked last week’s question but never did get to it. It is fun to have some ideas to “blog off of” if that is a term I can use! Maybe with this question I will find a race I just have to do!

    3. This is easy! Lake Tahoe Marathon – best scenery and spectators/volunteers, San Francisco Marathon – awesome course, great volunteers, and Sacramento Shamrockin’ Half Marathon – fast, fast course with great weather each year!!
      I love to race and really haven’t had too many bad ones!
      I might have to do Philly one year – I always hear great reviews!
      Happy Monday!

    4. Great questions, but very hard to choose. I’ll have mine up later tonight and will come back with the link. However, I ran the BCM relay this year and I agree that it’ll make the top of my list. I only got to experience 5 miles of it, but I loved it and the rest of my team had the same experience so I plan to go back next year and run the full marathon on my own.

    5. 1) Big Sur Marathon; love the beauty of that thing (hated how hard it was)
      2) Boston Marathon; Need not say more on that. It was one of the most emotional races I’ve ever run!
      3)Pikes Peak Marathon; 8000′ vertical in 13.3 miles. Nothing more physically demanding that that!

    6. One day soon I’m going to read the Monday Question on a Monday…not a day later 😦

      And so sorry about Butler last night. I was pullin’ for them too.

    7. Pingback: Monday Brain Exchange #2 on Tuesday « My First 5K Blog

    8. hey!! no, i haven’t run DE before. i’ve heard mixed things about it. i do like that i don’t have to go on saturday to pick up my race packet and that i can get it before the race on sunday. saves me a trip!

    9. You have come up with good questions so far 🙂 I am very sorry that it takes me 3 days to read about Monday. Maybe I need a cheat sheet so I can participate on time too 😉 lol.

      My 3 fav races are Disney (half, full or both!), NYC marathon, and Baltimore marathon – I still remember the guys handing out gummy bears! (and food is a huge weakness haha)

    10. Pingback: Hello, Good Morning! (Running Roundup and MBE). « Common Objects and Everyday Events

    11. Pingback: Favorite Races « Jill Will Run

    Leave a comment