Home » Brain Exchange » Monday Brain Exchange Week 27- Races & Vacations

Monday Brain Exchange Week 27- Races & Vacations

Last Week’s Players will be linked tomorrow- Sorry- I forgot I have off today and all my info is saved on the work computer!

Every Monday, at the end of the current weeks M.B.E answer, I will post a question for the following week.  This way you can cue your post for Monday if you wish.  If Monday doesn’t work for you, you can still play along any day of the week that works best. If you want to play along, all you have to do is post the question and your answer on your own blog.  Link your post to my blog so that I know you have participated, and in the following weeks post, I will link all the participant blogs from the prior week.

This Weeks Topic: Racing and Vacations

This Weeks Question: Do you make vacations out of your races when they are far from home?

I love to travel, so for me, finding destination races is part of the fun.  If the race is already going to cost me a flight and days off from work, I see no reason why it shouldn’t be made into a vacation!  In the past, I have done this with at least three of my races and have a few planned for this year as well.

I hope that when I have a family, I can continue finding races while vacationing.  I think it is a good way to keep doing what I love while also including my family.

This Friday, I leave for Florida.  While I am not racing and this is a R&R long weekend away…Victoria and I cannot let go of our training.  We have an open water swim planned as well as a few runs and we even scoped out our gym so we can lift one day.  One of the best things about taking trips with friends who are also training, is that they totally get it.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Next Weeks Topic: Social Networking

Next Weeks Question: Do you use Facebook, Twitter, Daily Mile etc… to socially network for your blog?

9 thoughts on “Monday Brain Exchange Week 27- Races & Vacations

  1. Pingback: Monday Goals and Brain Exchange #27 « My First 5K and More…

  2. This year was the first year I ever though of finding a race while on vacation. I loved it! The next half we’re running is going to be a “destination race.” It’s a great way to keep on track with my miles while on vacation. Otherwise I’d totally ignore that “exercise” part 🙂

  3. I love racing/training on vacation. To me, this stuff is all fun so why wouldn’t I do it on vacation? Vacation is supposed to fun right? I heard the term “racecation” the other day and that is basically what we do.

  4. I do bring my running gear when I go on vacation because I love running in a different area.

    I have never done a race that required an overnight stay. But after I finish my first half marathon and I still like running a half, the plan is to do 1 half marathon a year in a different European country and in that case I will combine it with a short vacation.

  5. While I am a fan of destination races, and did quite a few, my husband pointed out he’d like to take a vacation that doesn’t revolve around a race. So… you know. Guess I have to compromise 😉 Have fun!! Oh but I do always bring running shoes and workout clothes when we travel, even if it isn’t for a race.

  6. i always mean to… but then i end up just taking a quick weekend/3-4 day weekend trip. sigh. i’m such a work addict… hah yeah right, i just end up not being able to take the time off or don’t want to use my time off then and use it a different week instead. one day i hope to find a local race whereever i have traveled to. i have yet to find a local race when out of town…

  7. Pingback: Monday Goals & Brain Exchange #28 « My First 5K and More…

Leave a comment