Home » Brain Exchange » Brain Exchange Week 7- Music

Brain Exchange Week 7- Music

Here are the answers from participants in last weeks Brain Exchange:  Kandi, Andrea, Whitney, Kitzzy, Darlene, and  Kim

Here’s how it works:

  • Every Monday, I will post a question.  The questions will be set up to post for @ 6am E.S.T. to give everyone ample amount of time to post their own answers throughout the day.
  • Questions will range all over the board as far as topics are concerned; from the sports themselves to nutrition to blogging and so on.  (If you have any topics/questions you think would be good, please feel free to email me!) 
  • If you want to play along, all you have to do is post the question and your answer on your own blog.  You can play along any day of the week that works best for you.
  • Link your post to my blog so that I know you have participated, and in the following weeks post, I will link all the participant blogs from the prior week.
  • Topic:  Music

    Question:  Do you listen to music when you work out?  When you race?  What are you top ten favorite songs to get pumped up to?

    I ALWAYS have my IPOD at the gym.  As far as training outside…using an IPOD on the bike is a huge no-no and I never ever do that.   Where running is concerned,  I do like to have the music, but the exceptions are: running with a buddy who is not listening to music or if I am running in a lower populated area.  Additionally, I always keep my music low…sometimes I even take one earbud off so that I can have music but always hear what is going on in my surroundings.

    When it comes to racing, it depends on the length of the race and the race itself.  If I am running with someone, I don’t even bother to bring it, but if I am running alone I at least have it with me.  For short races such as 5 & 10k’s where the crowd support is low and there is little or no entertainment, I wear it the entire race.  But for bigger races, I tend to turn it on and off depending on how I am feeling and what is happening in the race.  For example:  At Baltimore, I hardly listened to my IPOD because I was having so much fun with the crowd.  But in Delaware, I would have died of boredom without the music.

    Top 10 (current) favorite* songs to get pumped to:

    1. Rick Ross- The Boss
    2. Christina Aguilera- Dirrrty
    3. Eminem- Soldier
    4. Jay-Z & Lincoln Park- Encore
    5. Jay Sean & Lil’ Wayne- Down
    6. Fort Minor- Remember the Name
    7. Michael Jackson- Don’t Stop Till You Get Enough
    8. Black Eyed Peas- Boom Boom Pow
    9. Pink- So What
    10. Killers- Mr. Brightside

     

    *My favorites are always changing

    I am looking forward to your favorites as I am working on a new playlist!

    18 thoughts on “Brain Exchange Week 7- Music

    1. I always use my Ipod during runs and during runs on the treadmill. The music in the gym isn’t too bad either so at strenght training I listen to that.

      I always play my music on the shuffle mode, there is only “running” music on my Ipod so the song really doesn’t matter. At this moment I don’t have a favorite, I like all the songs on it.

      As for your list, numbers 7, 8, 9 and 10 are on my playlist too.

    2. Honestly, if it wasn’t for my ipod, I never would have started running, of that, I’m sure. I’m trying to get used to no music though with triathlon 😉 I love your song list — my pick-me-up song is Till I Collapse by Eminem.

    3. I have to listen to music while doing anything difficult, like a long run or intervals – it’s gotta distract my mind from how hard the task is. Even 5K’s, which are just so demanding of me, I have to have my iPod blaring 10 octaves louder than “safe” – haha. I just like anything upbeat and fast but have no top 10. I’m going to look at your list, though, as I’m always searching for new songs. Have a great week!

    4. I only use my iPod at the gym, and that is becoming rare! I used to only be able to run with music, but after a few close calls and actually maturing with my running, I prefer not to run with it and get in tune with my breathing and surroundings – even at the gym.
      I have had the same stuff on my iPod for over a year, so no help here!
      Happy Monday!

    5. I do not listen to music when I am running..training and racing. I just don’t because I am too much of a control freak and like to hear what is going on. When I am on my mill I like to listen to 80’s music and faster paced newer stuff:)

    6. i run with mine as of now…and cycle with it sometimes, as well. always have ti low enough to hear what’s goin on around me. Haven’t gotten to race with it in awhile…so not sure I’d necessarily do that. And I always have it on in the gym while doing core or plyometrics…

      I have a “gym” playlist that has ALOTTA Jayz Z and Rick Ross, some Rocky music, some UGK and Outkast, TI, etc. i prefer hip hop when I train.

    7. I’m glad you don’t listen to your iPod while cycling outdoors. It’s illegal here in CA. A lot of variety on your playlist. That Michael Jackson song was a hit when I was still in high school!

    8. Pingback: Monday Brain Exchange #7 on Tuesday « My First 5K Blog

    9. i love all those songs!! and my favorites are also always changing. have you heard the new eminem song? “Not Afraid”- really good! also the new Jay-Z song- “Young Forever” or something like that. also good 🙂 great topic!

    10. My faves are always changing too – a lot of current Top 40s stuff and classic rock.

      I haven’t been listening to music lately since I was running with Steven, but I used my MP3 player on Sunday and it was weird!

    11. i sometimes use my ipod at the gym, but i never run with music outside. i used to when i first started running but then my shuffle died and i never got around to getting a new one. music definitely helps pump me up though – i love little bursts of music the spectators blast in races.

    12. Pingback: Music While I Run | Jill Will Run

    Leave a Reply

    